Skip to main content

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

 Record Group
Identifier: US-MeSA-02

Scope and Contents

The Maine State Archives (MSA) collects and holds the permanent historical records of the Maine State Government. MSA was created in 1965. By 1971, MSA housed the historical records that had been held by the Secretary of State, Legislature, Courts and Executive Departments. This included records from defunct agencies.

With the implementation of a records management system, groups of records were identified as having permanent historical value and were sent to the Archives after a designated period of time. These included Commissioner/Executive correspondence, meeting minutes from Boards and Commissions, as well as department-specific records.


  • 1973 -

Biographical / Historical

The Department of Business Regulation was created in October 1973 as part of State government reorganization designed to consolidate related agencies along functional lines and strengthen executive direction. Some of the agencies originally placed under the jurisdiction of the Department were the Bureau of Banking, the Bureau of Insurance, and the Real Estate Commission.

The Special Session of the 106th Legislature established the Bureau of Consumer Protection (eventually renamed the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection) to enforce the Maine Consumer Credit Code, which became effective January 1, 1975. In 1987 the name of the Department was changed to Professional and Financial Regulation.

The special session of the 107th Legislature established a central licensing division, now called the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). Since that time, several new state licensing programs have been created and placed within OPOR. Licensing programs have also been transferred to OPOR from other departments, and existing independent agencies have been moved into OPOR. Today, the Office oversees 31 professional and occupational licensing boards and directly administers 6 licensing programs without boards.

Today, the Department consists of a centralized Administrative Services Division, which includes the Commissioner's Office, and 5 agencies: the Bureau of Financial Institutions (formerly the Bureau of Banking), the Bureau of Insurance, the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection (formerly the Office of Consumer Credit Regulation), the Maine Office of Securities, and the Office of Licensing and Registration.

In addition to the 31 licensing boards and 6 licensing programs directly administered by OPOR, 6 professional licensing boards are also affiliated with the Department: the Board of Licensure in Medicine, the Maine State Board of Nursing, the Board of Dental Examiners, the Board of Registration for Professional Engineers, the Maine State Board of Optometry and the Board of Osteopathic Licensure.

Maine State Government Annual Report 2012-2013


192.5 Linear Feet (200 containers)

Language of Materials


State Agency Schedules
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Maine State Archives Repository

84 State House Station
Augusta Maine 04333